Editorial Cuvillier

Publicaciones, tesis doctorales, capacitaciónes para acceder a una cátedra de universidad & prospectos.
Su editorial internacional especializado en ciencias y economia

Editorial Cuvillier

De En Es
EGON PETRI, Musician to the World

EUR 29,90

EUR 17,90

EGON PETRI, Musician to the World (Tienda española)

Interviews and Commentary

Alfred Kanwischer (Autor)


Lectura de prueba, PDF (850 KB)
Indice, PDF (560 KB)

ISBN-13 (Impresion) 9783736999688
ISBN-13 (E-Book) 9783736989689
Idioma Inglés
Numero de paginas 156
Edicion 1.
Lugar de publicacion Göttingen
Fecha de publicacion 06.03.2019
Clasificacion simple Biografia
Area Historia actual y contemporanea

Egon Petri, one of the most admired musicians of his generation, brought the sensibilities of the nineteeth century to his students in the mid-twentieth century. In his youth, his parents’ home hosted the likes of Brahms, Tchaikovsky, and Clara Schumann, and he studied with Ferruccio Busoni and other great musicians of the prewar and interwar periods. As a prolific and magisterial pianist, he performed prodigious programs throughout Europe and Russia, both solo recitals and concerts with the great orchestral conductors of the time, before settling in Oakland, California in the United States. With ongoing interest in Petri’s life, artistry, and teaching intensified by a re-release of his 1929–1951 recordings, Alfred Kanwischer returned to transcripts of interviews he had conducted with Petri in the period 1960–1962 to create this engaging narrative, replete with treasured memories and extensive direct quotations revealing Petri’s charm, humor, and wisdom.

The narrative is divided into chapters focusing on Petri’s youth, influences, performance artistry, and teaching, with engaging interludes on conductors and “dream pianos.” Fans of classical music will find the world revealed in this book fascinating, while pianists and piano teachers will find it useful and inspiring.

A facsmile of a booklet detailing Petri’s concert repertoire during the period 1892–1929 is also included.